Skip to content

When Elsie Met Porky

August 20, 2009
 


Maple-bacon ice cream

Originally uploaded by alfagee

I’ve always had a thing for flavor combos: Hot-sweet; sweet-sour; salty-sweet. I knew I wasn’t alone in this fixation when I saw a piece on Voodoo Donuts on some foodie show or other.

Voodoo Donuts has maple-bacon donuts, among other deep-fried treasures. And I wanted them. Now, Mr. Alfa and I have driven to Philly just for a cheesesteak, but a cross-country trip just for a donut is a bit out of the question.

So, I had to come up with my own take on fatty, sweet, salty goodness. I introduced the pig to the cow, and the angels sang.

(And I submitted it to the BSI: Bacon challenge. Let’s see how it plays.)

Maple-Bacon Ice Cream

3/4 cup dark, real maple syrup (not some corn syrup dyed brown)

2 cups heavy cream

2 cups half-and-half (don’t even think about using that fat free crap)

6 large egg yolks

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tbsp. cornstarch

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

6 slices center cut bacon, cooked and pulverized in a food processor

Directions

  1. In a heavy saucepan over medium heat, bring the cream to a simmer.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, cornstarch, egg yolks, sugar, and salt.
  3. Pour about one-third of the hot cream into the egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly. Then stir the egg yolk mixture into the remaining cream in the saucepan. Stir to blend well.
  4. Lower the heat to medium-low, and simmer stirring constantly, until the mixture is hot and slightly thickened. DO NOT BOIL–or I will slap the whisk right out of your hand!!!!!
  5. Pour this through a fine mesh strainer (trust me, you don’t want to skip this step) into a clean bowl.
  6. Stir in the milk and vanilla extract.  Cover the bowl and pop this into the fridge to chill completely
  7. Freeze in whatever ice cream maker you have, following the directions that came with the machine. I’m not a mind reader. I can’t tell you how to turn it into ice cream.
  8. Add the pulverized bacon when your ice cream maker directions tell you to. With my machine, you add the bacon about 10 minutes before the ice cream is fully churned.
  9. Think of me when you eat this little bowl of salty sweet deliciousness.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    September 13, 2009 8:05 pm

    I’ve been lurking for awhile now, and had to comment. I live near Portland and have had that maple bacon donut. Honestly, it’s not that exciting (create your own: buy a maple bar and put a piece of bacon on it. Voila!), although they have some other really great choices in the shop. That ice cream sounds awesome, though. Mmm, sweet and salty.

  2. January 28, 2010 7:21 pm

    I love bacon and I’m mostly vegetarian! This looks yummy.

  3. March 30, 2010 1:31 pm

    This ice cream has my name ALL over it! I’ve had peanut butter bacon ice cream before but i will totally make this one at home.

  4. Cindy Norman permalink
    April 10, 2010 11:54 am

    When do I buy my ice cream maker?

    • alfagee permalink*
      April 10, 2010 12:18 pm

      Just for you.

      Step A: Go out to BB&B and buy an ice cream maker. Hurry up. We’ll wait.

  5. April 16, 2010 4:56 pm

    Interesting. I love dipping my bacon in syrup. I expect that I’d like this a lot.

  6. November 13, 2010 7:58 pm

    Great BSI entry Gayle!!

  7. November 22, 2010 9:20 pm

    Hi! You won this past week’s Bacon BSI! Please email me your address to jenndaww@gmail.com. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

