Skip to content

Caribbean Crocking and A Special Offer

August 12, 2009


Caribbean Chicken Curry

Originally uploaded by alfagee

A long, long time ago, on a sailing trip with a company that no longer exists, I found myself: ravenous, doped up on codeine, on the island of Tortola, and dining among chickens. There’s something very surreal about eating curry chicken while chickens peck at your toes. Thus began my love of Caribbean-style curries and my mistrust of living chickens.

Caribbean curries are similar to traditional Indian curries, but different. They tend to be a little brighter in flavor, use spices native to the islands, and are brothy, rather than thick and creamy. You can make them using standard Madras curry powder, but the flavor won’t be quite the same. So, I make my own Caribbean Curry Powder, based on a recipe told to me by the cook on that long-gone sailboat and my own experimentation. It’s not difficult, but it requires 10 different spices, time, and patience. Which brings me to the VERY SPECIAL OFFER….

The first 5 people who donate $10 to my team for Komen Austin using this link will receive enough of my special Caribbean Curry Powder to make this dish twice. Donate $20, and I’ll give you the recipe for the spice blend, too. Just donate and then post a comment here to let me know, and I’ll get you your blend.

If you’re too late to get my special blend, you can still make this dish. It’ll work out OK with Madras curry powder. It won’t taste the same, but since you’ve never tasted it, you won’t notice the difference.

Caribbean Chicken Curry in De Crock Pot, Mon

2 lbs boneless chicken (breasts, thighs, a mix…), cut into 2-in. pieces

2 lbs baby red potatoes, cut into 2-in. pieces

3 lg. yellow onions, quartered and cut into 2-in. pieces

3 red bell peppers, cut into…yep, 2-in. pieces

4 tbsp. Caribbean Curry Powder (or the curry powder of your choice)

2 whole cinnamon sticks

2 bay leaves (fresh, preferably)

2 tbsp grated fresh ginger

1 tbsp minced garlic

3 cups chicken broth

Salt & pepper, to taste

4 tbsp rum (I prefer the dark, Cruzan rum) mixed with 2 tbsp corn starch

Directions

  1. Toss the chicken with half the curry powder.
  2. Layer the potatoes, onions, peppers, then chicken in the crock pot.
  3. Tuck in the cinnamon sticks and the bay leaves. Sprinkle the ginger and garlic over everything.
  4. Pour the chicken broth in over the whole mess. Sprinkle in the other half of the curry powder.
  5. Close the crock, and cook on high 4-5 hours.  Go fix yourself a banana daiquiri, and put on some steel drum music.
  6. About 30 minutes before it’s done, add in the rum-cornstarch slurry. Cover and drink some more

Notes: This isn’t going to be thick. It’s meant to be a really brothy kind of curry. In the Caribbean, they’ll serve it over rice and peas (yay, more starch), or in a bread wrapper called roti. I like it with some Naan for dipping.

Also, the picture shows the curry topped with banana relish. Just don’t. It seemed like a good idea at the time, but it was just weird.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Ames permalink
    August 12, 2009 12:40 pm

    I took you up on your offer, good luck with your walk!

  2. August 30, 2009 8:34 pm

    Me, too! (Hope I’m not too late.) And this recipe contains nothing I’m allergic to, so I don’t even have to substitute!

    • alfagee permalink*
      August 30, 2009 8:35 pm

      You’re not too late! I’m making up another batch of curry powder tomorrow.

      Thanks so much!

  3. Kirsten permalink
    September 19, 2009 5:07 pm

    What a great offer! I just donated $25 to take you up on it. 🙂

  4. strose permalink
    September 27, 2009 11:45 am

    I just donated to take you up on your offer, too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

