Skip to content

When Life Gives You Spotty Bananas…

July 24, 2009


Banana Bread

Originally uploaded by alfagee

….Make banana bread!

Seems obvious, no? But, it hadn’t occurred to me once in the 11 years since my Mom died. Then one of my faithful readers (you know who you are, Bonzee) mentioned she was making one, and the pieces clicked into place.

I had spotty bananas I was going to have to chuck any minute. I had a fabulous old recipe from my Mom. I had 15 or 20 minutes until I had to get dinner started. So, l baked. And I changed up the recipe (adding chocolate and spices). And the results were good.

Gayle’s Mom’s Banana Bread

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
3 super ripe bananas, mashed
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. ground cardamom
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup of dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 and spray a loaf pan with the oily spray of your choice.
  2. Mix the butter and sugar together, until the whole thing looks kind of creamy.
  3. Add the eggs, vanilla, and mashed bananas and stir to combine.
  4. Now, start adding the dry ingredients. You can mix all these together, and then add them a little at a time.
  5. When this gloop looks fully mixed, stir in the chocolate chips. If you don’t want chocolate, you could use nuts. Or you could skip right ahead to the next step; it’s your bread, do what you want.
  6. Pour the mix into the prepared loaf pan and shove this into the oven.
  7. At about 45 minutes, check the loaf. If a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean, it’s done. If it’s wet and sticky, keep going another 10-15 minutes.
  8. Let the bread cool in the pan about 30 minutes, then let it cool on a rack….or cut into it right away. I’ll leave that part up to you.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa aka Nutz permalink
    July 24, 2009 3:40 pm

    I lo-ove banana bread and willingly try all new recipes. I will get the bananas this weekend and let them get spotty!

    Thank you!

  2. E11even permalink
    July 24, 2009 4:14 pm

    What would happen if I didn’t have cardamon? And I had milk chocolate chips…because I’ve got 4 spotty bananas! And dinner is already in the crockpot (marsala beef).

    • alfagee permalink*
      July 24, 2009 4:18 pm

      Your cake would be an utter and complete failure.

      I kid, I kid. If you don’t have cardamom, increase the nutmeg a little, and maybe the cinnamon. And milk chocolate chips would be fine. I’m just not a big milk chocolate fan.

  3. E11even permalink
    July 24, 2009 4:25 pm

    me either, but I also don’t really like banana bread. this would really be a treat for the mister and the kid.

    thanks.

  4. E11even permalink
    July 25, 2009 4:35 pm

    mmm, this smells great, even with milk chocolate chips. oh, and whole wheat flour. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. E11even permalink
    July 25, 2009 5:14 pm

    OMG this is to die for good, even with milk chocolate. I’m not usually a big banana bread eater, but this is great. All the other recipes I’ve ever made have milk or buttermilk, and they aren’t as cakey or as rich as this is.

    I’m not much of a baker, so I don’t know really what makes baking recipes good and what makes them not good, but this rocks.

    • alfagee permalink*
      July 25, 2009 5:34 pm

      I don’t know much about baking, either, but sometimes I get it right ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Bonzee permalink
    July 26, 2009 11:41 pm

    I can’t wait to try this! Of course it’ll probably be another two weeks, when I have spotty bananas again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Lisa aka Nutz permalink
    July 27, 2009 12:41 pm

    I bought bananas specifically for this bread. I hope they get spotty soon!

  8. Lisa permalink
    August 6, 2009 5:26 pm

    Finally! It’s in the oven. I can’t wait.

  9. Bonzee permalink
    August 22, 2009 12:25 pm

    Alfa I made this last night and it is absolutely wonderful, thank you again for sharing your recipes!

Leave a Reply

