Skip to content

SDOTW: Full of Lemony Goodness

July 20, 2009

It’s been a while since I posted a Side Dish of the Week (SDOTW), so I should probably rename this feature Side Dish When I Think of It. Nah, that’s too long and tedious.

I’m still lazy about side dishes, which is why this feature hasn’t lived up to its frequency billing. Plus, I pack so much flavor into my entrees, I like the balance of a simple side. But, I’m trying really hard to get more creative here.

If you’re thinking of making the Moroccan Grilled Chicken I posted last week, consider this as one of your sides. The flavors are very complementary, and this can easily be prepared while your chicken grills.

Lemon Mint Couscous

(serves 4)

1.5 cups plain couscous (Do not use one of those boxed flavored things)

1.5  cups of water

Juice and zest of 1 lemon

About 3 tbps fresh mint, cut into thin ribbons (chiffonaded, if you want to be all chefy)

1 tbsp olive oil

S&P to taste

Directions

  1. Add water, lemon zest, and olive oil to a medium saucepan set over high heat. Bring to a boil.
  2. When the water boils, stir in the couscous, lemon juice, half the mint, salt & pepper. Turn off the heat and cover.
  3. Let stand about 5 minutes, then add the rest of the mint. Fluff the couscous with a fork to decompress it (yep, I said fluff). Serve. Eat. Enjoy.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

