Skip to content

Nothing Says Summer Like Mojitos

June 9, 2009

For me, summer doesn’t officially begin until I’ve had a Mojito. There’s something so refreshing about lime and mint mixed together. And let’s not forget The Rum. Is there nothing rum can’t do? One silly rum drink, and I’m immediately transported to a tropical locale where my greatest worry is whether I missed a spot with the sunscreen.

But I digress. This post isn’t really meant to be about rum, tropical islands, or my propensity for leaving pasty white skin exposed to the elements. It’s about cooking, well, grilling today.  Specifically…

Mojito Pork

(serves 6-8)

2 pork tenderloins (whatever size you get)

1/4 cup rum (I used dark rum, because it has more flavor)

Small handful of mint (My hands are on the large size. If you have doll hands, go for a large handful)

Juice of 2 limes

Zest of 1 lime

1 large clove of garlic

1 tbsp honey

Directions

1. Throw the pork tenderloin in a gallon size Ziploc bag, or whatever sealable container you use for marinating.

2. Throw the mint, garlic, lime juice and rum into the blender. Or the food processor. Or chop it by hand if you’re low tech. Whirr it around until the mint and garlic are chopped to tiny bits.

3. Add HALF of the marinade in the bag with the pork.  (Pay attention here;  you’ll need the rest of the marinade later.) Squish all the air out of the bag, and massage the pork to distribute the marinade evenly.

4. Marinate the pork for 1-2 hours. Don’t go much longer than that; the citrus “cooks” the outer layer of the pork, and the texture will get funky if you let it go too long.

5. Remove the pork from the marinade, and slap on a hot grill.  Throw out the marinade — it’s got the taint!

6. Sear the pork on all sides, then drop the heat on the grill to medium-ish. Grill the pork about 15 minutes, until the internal temperature reaches 160º.

7. When the pork is done, take it off the grill, and let it rest on the cutting board about 10 minutes. While the pork is having its siesta, it’s time to put the marinade that you kept from step 3 (you listened to me, right?) to work.  Throw that marinade in a saucepan. Add the honey and lime zest.  Bring it to a boil, stirring frequently to disolve honey. Drop the heat and simmer for 5-10 minutes, so the sauce reduces.  If you have any extra mint, throw a little in right before serving.

8. Slice the pork and drizzle with the reduced Mojito sauce.

**I served this with Pineapple Rice and salad with Honey Lime Vinaigrette. Check back tomorrow for those recipes.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa aka Nutz permalink
    June 9, 2009 11:39 am

    MMMMMMM. This sounds wonderful.

  2. E11even permalink
    June 13, 2009 12:58 am

    every time I cook a pork tenderloin, I remember, I don’t like pork tenderloin.

    but I might be willing to try again with this.

    or just make it with chops instead.

    • alfagee permalink*
      June 13, 2009 3:53 pm

      The tenderloin really stayed moist with this marinade, but it would be equally good on chops.

      • E11even permalink
        June 14, 2009 11:45 am

        I don’t know if I do something wrong to tenderloin, or buy bad ones, or if this is just how tenderloin is – but I just don’t like the texture of it. Does that make sense? It’s like it’s “mushy” or something in comparison to chops etc.

  3. E11even permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:46 am

    Mr. E has given this a thumbs up for this week. Hooray! Fricken fracken picky eater.

  4. alfagee permalink*
    June 14, 2009 4:52 pm

    Are you buying the ones that come vacuum sealed? Those are sometimes injected with water or something. They tend to be mushy.

    • E11even permalink
      June 14, 2009 7:44 pm

      yes, I have. I get them at Trader Joe’s usually. I’ll try one not packaged that way.

  5. E11even permalink
    June 21, 2009 11:17 am

    Let me set the scene for this review. Picture it, the kitchen table at the 11 household. Mr. E, E, and TEV all seated.

    Mr. E: (cuts into pork chop and takes bite, looks up). Wow.

    (takes 2nd bite). This might be the best thing you’ve ever made. Was it hard, or can we have it a lot?

    I made it with thick cut center loin chops. Obviously a huge hit. The pineapple rice was good too, although I made it with brown basmati rice and I’d do a wild mix next time.

    • alfagee permalink*
      June 22, 2009 9:53 am

      Yay! Glad everyone enjoyed it.

      If the rain ever stops, I’ll have some new grill recipes to post

      • E11even permalink
        June 22, 2009 5:37 pm

        I really wanted to use my new grill pan, so I used it instead of firing up the grill. It’s freaking hot here.

  6. Cindy Norman permalink
    July 6, 2009 8:14 pm

    I made this over the weekend for my family. Everyone loved it. There were no leftovers. We made the rice, had a salad and for dessert I made angel food cake with pineapple, strawberries and blueberries.

    Thanks for another winner!

Leave a Reply

